Pages Navigation Menu

Awards and Honors

GWC Faculty Awards

2017 Coast Community College District Foundation Faculty Scholarship
Martie Ramm Engle

2016-17 Golden West College Teacher of the Year Nominees
Martie Ramm Engle

2015-16 Golden West College Teacher of the Year Nominees
Martie Ramm Engle

2014-15 Golden West College Teacher of the Year Nominees
Tom Amen
Rory Cowen

John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Award from The League for Innovation in the Community College
Martie Ramm Engle

2013 Man and Woman of the Year in Theater (Huntington Beach Independent/Daily Pilot)
Tom Amen and Martie Ramm

2013 Golden West College Teacher of the Year Nominee
Martie Ramm Engle

2012 John D. Renley and Coast Community College District Foundation Faculty Scholarship
Martie Ramm Engle

GWC Theater Special Scholarship Awards

Theater Arts Scholarship 2017
Recipient:  Zackery White 

Stacy Bryan Student Director Scholarships 2017
Recipients:  Savannah Smith and Taylor Windle

Theater Arts Scholarship 2016
Recipient:  Erik Huska 

Stacy Bryan Student Director Scholarship 2016
Recipient:  Danielle Cañas

Theater Arts Scholarship 2015
Recipient:  Saffron Brauer 

Stacy Bryan Student Director Scholarship 2015
Recipient:  Saffron Brauer

Theater Department Scholarship 2014
Recipient:  Luke Pena

MED-DESIGN Scholarship 2014
Recipient:  Mikayla Richards

Stacy Bryan Scholarship 2014
Recipient:  Mikayla Richards

Theater Department Scholarship 2013
Matthew Muggia

MED-DESIGN Scholarship 2013
Luke Pena

Stacy Bryan Scholarship 2013
Nathan Salvador

Stacy Bryan Scholarship 2012
Recipient: Kylie Mae Browning

Theater Department Scholarship 2012
Recipient: Donny Acosta

Stacy Bryan Scholarship 2009 
Recipient: Kim Brown

Stacy Bryan Scholarship 2008 
Recipient: Kim Brown

Theater Department Scholarship 2008 
Recipient: Anh Thu Pham

Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival Awards

Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship Nominees

2016 A Piece of My Heart
Nicole Kelder (Maryjo)
Matthew Cobb (All the American Men)

2015 Boeing-Boeing
Matthew Villescas (Bernard)
Jaime Hensgen (Bertha) 

2014 Romeo and Juliet
Mahmoud Elsharkawy (Romeo)
Danielle Cañas (Juliet)

2012 Twelve Angry Men
Brock Joseph (Juror #8)
Thomas Trinity (Juror #10)

2010 Don’t Dress for Dinner 
Josh Allton (Bernard)
Tony Graham (Robert)

2009 How I Learned to Drive
Rebecca Wayne (Li’l Bit)
Sarah Woodberry (Aunt Mary)

2009 Beyond Therapy
Amber Luallen (Prudence)
Zedrick Restauro (Bruce)

2008 The Treasure of the Sierra Madre
Christian Navarro (Big Hat)
Tony Torrico (Bandito)

2007 A Few Good Men
Shawna Skipps (Lt. Cdr. JoAnne Galloway)
David Chorley (Lt. Sam Weinberg)

2007 The Children’s Hour
Jennifer Bridge (Martha)
Jacob Lane (Dr. Joseph Cardin)

2007 The Cripple of Inishmaan
David Steen (Cripple Billy)
Kim Brown (Eileen)

2006 Red Noses
Eric Bugosh (Father Flote)
Austin Wells (Master Bells)

2006 Uncommon Women and Others
Courtney Marie Barr (Rita Altabel)
Anh-Thu Pham (Carter)

2003 The Crucible
Mark Bedard (John Proctor)
Joshua Matheson (Rev. Hale)

KCACTF Invitational Scene Competition

2003 The Crucible
Director: Tom Amen
Actors: Joshua Matheson and Stephanie Whitfield

KCACTF Meritorious Achievement Award Winners

2009 How I Learned to Drive
Amanda Hallman (Assistant Director)
Sarah Harrington (Stage Manager)

2007 The Cripple of Inishmaan
Christian Navarro (Stage Manager)

2006 Red Noses
Laurie Reynolds (Assistant Stage Manager)

The University Arts (UniArts) Awards

2016 Mary Poppins
Outstanding Lead Actress – Dayna Sauble, as Mary Poppins
Outstanding Lead Actor – Zachary White, as Bert
Outstanding Supporting Actor – Jay Harbison, as George Banks
Outstanding Direction – Martie Ramm
Outstanding Choreography – Martie Ramm

National Youth Arts Awards

2016-17 Outstanding Production (College Division):

2016-17 Outstanding Supporting Actor (College Division):
Alex Jean as Link Larkin in Hairspray

2016-17 Outstanding Supporting Actress (College Division):
Kyra Olschewske as Penny Pingleton in Hairspray
Taylor Windle as Amber Von Tussle in Hairspray

2016-17 Outstanding College Ensemble: